Dee's Journal

An Engagement with a Vampire?

As I said before, Lord Strahd has asked for my hand in marriage. He says that he refrained from expressing his intentions not out of disinterest but in attempts to be a proper gentleman, for us to learn of each other first. He claims not to be put off, either by my aasimar blood or my position as a knight of Abadar. He has even given his blessing for the formation of a church and bank.

I worry that his current consorts will not appreciate the addition of a new member among their ranks, especially as that seems to have caused some degree of trouble the last time... Strahd does not believe that it would be an issue and says that the others all like me well enough. It's... odd? But I have never been conventional and certainly not one to judge the lifestyles of others. When one is so long-lived, it certainly makes sense to find many who touch your heart. I'm glad he has found such companions over the centuries, and it is fortunate that all within the Castle get along fairly well.

My chief concern is that, as a vampire, he would prefer that all his spouses be vampires. The concept makes sense, I suppose. Communing with Abadar has led me to an understanding that my god would not be opposed to this change -- I could still serve him as one of his paladins in such a form, the way that Doru does. The real question is, again, am I willing to change myself so drastically for a husband? Although it had only been a short time that we travelled together, I daily find myself looking across the table or beside me at the fire to say something to Vasili, only to be saddened by his absence and wishing he were still there.

I have made a list of considerations:

  • He has many consorts already, and I'm not certain how I'm expected to fit into that group dynamic.
  • I'm told that they all like me well enough that this should not be a problem? Perhaps I should ask Ludmilla her thoughts and ask for her advice.
  • Lord Strahd is, by his own admission, tied to Ravenloft and the responsibilities therein. It is unclear how I would be expected to fit into those responsibilities. I would not do well walking the halls, reciting poetry with Escher.
  • I have been told that I would be permitted to leave the castle to attend to tasks as I see fit, and even Lord Strahd was able to join us for a few weeks in his guise as Vasili. Surely he could again at some point, to escape the monotony of rule.
  • I'm not really familiar with Lord Strahd as himself. Most villagers would say that he was an evil monster, if they were brave enough to say anything about him at all.
  • The uncensored gossip of villagers should rarely be taken as fact. Strahd's consorts all have nothing but the best of things to say about him, and Vasili's company was most agreeable.
  • There is something quite evil and unsettling about Lord Strahd's chamberlain.
  • ...Rahadin has always been polite to us? That's all I can say of him.